A Brief Look at Car Accident Reports in Louisiana.

Georgia B. Day

If you have been involved in a car crash in the State of Louisiana, you have plenty to think about and plenty to do.

Because it is very difficult to think straight after having been involved in an accident, the best thing you can do is prepare yourself before an accident occurs. In today’s post, we hope to help you do that.

Reporting an Accident

In the immediate aftermath of a car crash, your first priority is calling the police and getting yourself (and anyone else) the medical attention they need. After that, you can consider doing other things, like gathering evidence (pictures) and information (witness statements; exchanging information).

However, there are some accidents that may not result in injury or property damage. Because car accidents can range from fender-benders to complete tragedies, it is important to know what your legal responsibilities are with regard to filing an accident report after a car crash.

In Louisiana, the law requires you to file a car accident report with the local police station if:

  • the accident results in injury,
  • death, or
  • property damage over $500.

You are also required to forward a copy of the written accident report to the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections (DPSC) if:

  • the accident results in injury,
  • death, or
  • property damage over $100.

The report must contain the following information:

  • Name, address, driver’s license or permit number of all drivers involved;
  • All relevant insurance information for any drivers involved;
  • Registration and license plate numbers of any vehicles involved or damaged; and
  • As much information as possible about the accident, including weather and road conditions, location, time of day, etc.

Failing to Report an Accident

If you are wondering what can happen if you ignore your legal responsibilities outlined above, you may not be happy to hear that failing to forward the written accident report to the DPSC within 24 hours of the accident can cause you to be fined up to $100 or imprisoned for up to 60 days.

Accidents Happen. And When They Do, We Are Here for You.

If you were involved in an accident, call us ToDay. We are experienced personal injury and car accident attorneys. We offer FREE consultations and we don’t get paid unless you win your case. We have offices in Baton Rouge, and we serve Baker, Denham, Gonzales, Port Allen, Prairieville, New Orleans, and Zachary. Call 225-200-0000 ToDay to schedule your free consultation oremail us.

Recent Posts



Justin A. Day

A proud graduate of Southern University Law Center and former president of the Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity, Justin is best known for providing his clients with the personal attention they need while fighting hard to get them the compensation they deserve. Justin and his team are not afraid to take on the tough cases or fight the good fight. Dedicated and tenacious, for over 18 years, Justin has consistently achieved superior results for the clients he serves.

Bar Admission

  • Louisiana
Georgia B. Day

Georgia B. Day

Georgia B. Day is an experienced personal injury and worker’s compensation attorney. A former Administrative Law Judge for the Louisiana Workforce Commission, Georgia is driven by a desire to obtain justice for individuals injured in the workplace and those who have been injured due to the carelessness of others. Georgia takes pride in providing her clients with the best possible representation. Polished and professional, Georgia is best known for her excellent work ethic, obtaining superior results, and her responsiveness to clients.

Bar Admission

  • Louisiana

Contact Us

Day Law Group Office Location

Contact Us

Choose Day Law Group

Fields marked with an * are required

"*" indicates required fields

I Have Read The Disclaimer*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.